Decapitated Boy’s Head Placed at School Gate

A shocking child murder committed by another child.

S.A. Ozbourne
8 min readOct 20, 2020
Murdered boy Jun Hase (Source SCMP)

“It’s only when I kill that I am liberated from the constant hatred that I suffer and that I am able to attain peace. It is only when I give pain to people that I can ease my own pain.”

If you have any previous knowledge of big and nation-shocking crimes in Japan, then you have probably come across the story of the boy who killed, decapitated, and then hung the head of an elementary school boy outside his school. Beyond the killing though, the culprit placed a note in the dead boy’s mouth egging on the police to find him.

The crime that took place in Kobe Japan in 1997 claimed the lives of both Jun Hase, 11, who was decapitated and Ayaka Yamashita, 10, who was also a victim to the 14-year old boy who called himself Sakakibara (an alias that in Japanese spells the Chinese characters alcohol, demon, and rose). Why did he kill Jun, a special needs student, in such a brutal way and why did he want so much attention from the police and media?

--

--

S.A. Ozbourne

Canadian in Japan. Teacher, Crime writer, video editor, and pet lover. Follow my journey via my monthly newsletter: https://bit.ly/team-ozsome-subscribe